Don’t Blog About That

In Ward choir today, the conductor turned to the men — who, amazingly were actually being good and practicing along with the women at this point — and said, “You guys need to be quiet.” She then looked at me and asked, “Have you ever heard that before?”

I’d finish the story, but I was then told, and I was given permission to quote her on this, by Shannon Farner, “Don’t blog about that.” So, I won’t.

Instead, I’ll think about things that I’m probably not supposed to blog about. Because that’s just the kind of thing that I do, and I can’t think of a better way to respond to a request ot sequester my freedom of press.

I think that my approach to blogging, and to social media in general, is to notice what goes on around me, find the unusual or humorous, then just repeat that. Isn’t much of life just like that? However, I’m probably not supposed to blog about things that could embarrass others.

I shouldn’t talk about the child who stood today and said, “I’d like to bury my testimony…” I don’t want to mock. I am incredibly proud of a child being able to get up in front of a congregation of a few hundred people and share things that they believe, even if they don’t understand all of the words that the adults use when they talk about those spiritual things. (For those who aren’t members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, the typical phrase is “I’d like to bear my testimony…”)

My wife tells me all the time that I shouldn’t put something on Facebook. Usually she’s right, but almost without exception, the thing that was just censored would have been really funny. At least in my mind. Her advice is so common, that I can’t even remember the opening line to any of the things that never got posted. I do think that my kids would bear the brunt of my overly open nature, however.

Ooh, like the time that Beth… wait, I probably should blog about that either.

So, to Sister Farner, thank you for reminding me of a great blogging topic, even if I couldn’t finish the story. I’m not offended, and I hope that you aren’t either.

Thanks for reading what I shouldn’t have blogged about.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Don’t Blog About That

  1. Warren on said:

    Kevin – that has me in stitches. I don’t think Stephanie ever chastised you…at least not that I can remember.

  2. Rachael on said:

    Shannon and I are laughing our biscuits off.

    To quote Shannon, since she’s sitting right here and I can….

    “At least you tried to take my advice. Not offended you nerd.”

  3. Shannon is getting a lot of good quotes in here, isn’t she?

Leave a comment